National ACDA


Announcing the 2014

Choral Composition Contest

Win $1000 for your choral composition!!

The 2014 IL-ACDA Choral Competition Contest has begun!
Illinois composers with a creative voice and clear compositional ability are invited to submit works for Treble or Male voices to Illinois-ACDA’s annual Choral Composition Contest. The winning composition will be premiered at the Illinois-ACDA Summer Re-Treat, Summer 2014. In addition, winning composers are invited to display their works at our annual summer ReTreat.

Entries for the 2014 IL-ACDA contest will be accepted from now until April 1st, 2014. Details and forms for submitting your work can found on the following links:

Composition Submission Form

Contest Rules and Guidelines

Contest Flyer (Print and Post!)

2014 IL-ACDA Composition Contest Winner

The winner of the 2014 Illinois-ACDA Composition Contest winner is Philip Spencer for his treble chorus piece, Tune Thy Music To Thy Heart. 


Philip Spencer is enjoying a career spanning more than thirty years as a full-time professional musician, including the duties of award-winning educator, conductor of choral ensembles in the United States and Europe, church musician, and concert organist. He has just completed his thirteenth year as Professor of Music and Director of Choral and Vocal Music in the Fine Arts Department of Joliet Junior College, where he conducts both of the college choral ensembles, teaches applied and class voice, and world music.  Prior to coming to JJC, he was Chair of the Music Department at Grand View College, Des Moines, Iowa, and a full-time church musician in several Ohio, Minnesota, and Illinois congregations.


In addition to his college teaching, Phil is Founding Conductor of the Lutheran Youth Choir International, a select touring ensemble of high school singers from throughout the United States and Germany; and Founding Artistic Director of the biennial Festival of American Vocal Music at Mansfeld Castle in Mansfeld, Germany. He is also the Founding Conductor Emeritus of the Edina Chorale, one of the Minneapolis area’s finest community-based choral ensembles. In 2011, Phil was named the recipient of the twenty-fourth annual Saint Genesius Award by Lewis University “for extraordinary achievement in choral music and music education.”


Mr. Spencer holds the Master of Music degree from the Yale University School of Music and Institute of Sacred Music; has completed one academic year of music study in Berlin, Germany; and has done doctoral work in choral conducting and pedagogy at the University of Iowa. 


In recent years, Phil has served IL-ACDA as the Two-Year College Chair for six years; as a member of the Composition Contest Committee for two years; as accompanist coordinator for numerous Re-Treats; and as creator of and organist for two hymn festivals at our Re-Treats in past summers.  He has also served as an accompanist for reading sessions for ACDA state, division, and national conferences; for the Collegiate Repertoire Chorus in 2010; and for the annual IL-ACDA Reading Sessions at IMEA. He currently serves on the Executive Board of the Central Division-ACDA as the Two-Year College Chair representing over 200 institutions in a four state area.  This past February at the Central Division Conference in Cincinnati, Phil was co-presenter with Bob Boyd of a reading session on repertoire for Men's Choir, and accompanist for the reading session on Vocal Jazz.

Past Recipients of the IL-ACDA Composition Contest include:

2013 ~ Tim Blickhan Life Has Loveliness to Sell (SATB)  
2012 ~ Edwin Childs On Wings of Prayer (SSAA, piano)  
2011 ~ Wayland Rogers When Daisies Pied (SATB)  
2010 ~ Donald Frasier In Moonlight (TTB)  
2009 ~ Karen Ball A Light Exists In Spring (SATB, piano)  
2008 ~ Edwin Childs Peace (SSA, piano)  
2007 ~ Paul Carey Thou Art the Sky (SATB, piano) Roger Dean 15/2430R
2006 ~ Christopher Walters Weary with Toil (SATB, unaccompanied) Colla Voce 15-96040
1999 ~ Anne Heider Jesous Ahatonnia: A Huron carol (TTBB, piano)  
1998 ~ Paul Steg Vocalise (SATB)  
1996 ~ Bart Bradfield To The Thawing Wind (SATB, piano)  
1995 ~ Clyde Thompson Three Dickinson Poems (SSA, piano, flute)  
1994 ~ Joel Ross Sweet Was the Virgin Song (TTBB, harp)  
1993 ~ Mark Ray Hollman Hope is a Thing with Feathers (SAB, piano)  
1990 ~ Ellen Keating Ave Maria (SSA) Mark Foster MF922
1985 ~ Lee Kesselman Two Meditations on Yeats (SATB)  
1984 ~ Michael Kosch spring! may... (SATB, divisi)  


©IL-ACDA 2004